Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Using hair products when cycling with road bicycle?
02-17-2014, 01:07 PM
Using hair products when cycling with road bicycle?
The weather is getting better now so I am tempted to grab my road bicycle when the weather gets only a bit more better. Can I use hair products when cycling? i am asking because we ride in groups and we always get together in the weekend as a group for some chatting and laughs prior to hitting the pavement and my hair is naturally a mess without hair products.
I am not a pro just do this as a hobby and because i like riding so theres no need to go all hardcore on any opinions and i am guessing the least product used the better [or maybe not??] and of course I wear my full gear including cycling helmet. Currently using hair gel/pomade/wax so if any of you can shed some light on these products please.
Bit of a trivial question lol so thanks a bunch dudes!!
Oh and we do ride for hours and sweat buckets & sometimes visibility is impaired because of some hilly places we ride thru including fog and rain.
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-17-2014, 02:06 PM
RE: Using hair products when cycling with road bicycle?
Now that's an interesting question, Stevens! Considering that scalp hair is an important part of the structure of the head, this is the first question/thread we get on the forum with regards to helmets and sports.

Light use of "light" hair products will be fine; it is the heavier use and residue-leaving products that worries me for a couple of reasons. These are the main residue-leaving products you'd want to avoid in your case:
  • Hair wax
  • Pomade
  • Hair gel (in copious amounts)
  • Hair putty or similar (e.g. fiber, clay etc)
  • Hairstyling cream
  • Hair spray

Should be OK:
  • Light hair gel: used in small amounts (one to two fingertips, not any more!)
  • Hair mousse: the size of half a palm