Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Straight Razor Shaving
11-17-2014, 12:12 PM
Straight Razor Shaving
I returned home from holiday yesterday to find my new shaving gear waiting for me. I've been mulling over using a straight razor for a few months now and decided to make the plunge. The equipment and consumables I purchased are…
  • Straight Razor
  • Strop
  • Badger Hair Brush
  • Pre-Shave Cream
  • Shaving Cream
  • Styptic Pencil

I tried it out last night on a couple days growth and must admit I was a little nervous. I could envision a long gash on my cheek or neck from a wrong move. Nothing went seriously wrong though and I only had to address one nick with the styptic pencil. It was obvious I shaved, but it was not nearly as close as I had wanted.

Today I had my hand at it again and was more confident in what I was doing. I also watched a video beforehand on proper stropping technique and applied what I learned to my blade. The shave came out much closer this time, even better than I get with my cartridge razor. I had a couple nicks again, but nothing major, a quick dab with the pencil took care of things. I'm quite excited and am sure as time goes on I'll become much more competent.

Any others out there that use a straight razor as their preferred shaving method?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
11-18-2014, 08:33 AM
RE: Straight Razor Shaving
Today was my 3rd shave with the straight razor. It's much more time consuming at this point, but very relaxing as well. I didn't have any visible nicks today but could tell I came close in a couple spots.