Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Receding hairline and thinning, help with hairstyle?!
05-14-2015, 04:38 PM
Receding hairline and thinning, help with hairstyle?!
At 22 I'm panicking a bit because my hair is something a treasure, yet I'm receding at the front and losing hair on the crown. Not going to waste my time with the products in the shop because they're a waste of money. However, I've tried all sorts of styles to compensate the loss of hair- some people say they can't notice it but with a closer look it's clear. I'd really love the Brad Pitt "Fury" undercut look but I don't think my hairline could pull it off!
I just really want to know what to do with it, I'm losing density too which isn't great and it's not 100% straight hair, it can be quite wavy.
Sorry for the long post (I'm new to this and trying to give as much info as I can!)

Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-15-2015, 08:27 AM
It's best that you post pictures of your hairline and thinning to choose hairstyles.
Welcome on board, Jack. Your concern is a common one and there are hairstyles that benefit a receding hairline. However, it's best that you post some hair pictures to get a better idea of your current hairline and crown. I've upgraded your account so that you can post pictures, and the best way to go about posting pictures is to upload them to a free image hosting site (we recommend IMGur as it is done in seconds).

Like you've mentioned, there's a lot of snake oil being sold in shops to treat and even cure male hair loss. Unfortunately, the reality is that there is no cure for the regular type of male hair loss (also known as male pattern baldness), and the only products which are shown to work on treating male pattern baldness are minoxidil and finasteride (along with dutasteride).