Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Playing with my curly hair can damage it?
05-25-2013, 10:59 PM
Playing with my curly hair can damage it?
Yo crew, I sometimes find myself playing with my curly hair when i'm sat down. It's become a vice the longer my curls grew and I twist them and curl them around my fingers. I usually do this when i'm studying for finals or stressed.
Is playing with my curls like this going to damage them?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
05-25-2013, 11:43 PM
RE: Playing with my curly hair can damage it?
I would say yes, more so if the hair is curly as curly hair is easier to damage.

It's quite normal to play with the hair when stressed but the bad news is you will be exposing your hair to more potential to damage it.

I'm one of the admins of this forum. Any questions/issue? Contact me directly or any of the moderators. We welcome any feedback to improve our community.

You can also check out our forum's BEST HAIR PRODUCTS FOR MEN thread to read opinions and useful information on men's hair products.
05-26-2013, 12:12 AM
As simple as it may seem, a trick to stopping the damage from playing with your hair is to just to get a haircut that is short enough so you can't pick your curls with your fingers. I'm telling you this as I get lots of clients with the same problem and I just cut the hair at the right length and the problem is gone.

Oldschool barber getting it on with the internet era.
05-26-2013, 03:58 PM
Curly hair is naturally brittle, which means that you should always strive to avoid manipulating it too much. Style your curly hair and, then, that's it; don't touch your curls any more throughout the day!