Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
How to treat and prevent razor bumps?
07-06-2015, 07:55 AM
How to treat and prevent razor bumps?
Hey I want to ask in this forum section how to treat razor bumps? Also, how to prevent razor bumps? The reason for this is that I've started using a straight razor.

I've heard a lot of good things about straight razor shaving and wet shaving and I bought a good straight razor. More like good from the reviews and posts that I read. It slices through my hair perfectly and much better than the safety razors that I have used. Also straight razor shaving is surprisingly easy which I thought it would not be.

The only problem with straight razor shaving is the razor bumps. My theory is that the straight razor is so sharp that, sure, it slices the hair beautifully but it is also perhaps making tiny cuts on my skin as I am still a noob. I've read in the forum that straight razor shaving should not give you razor bumps when you get good at it so I want to continue shaving with a straight razor. But before that I seriously need to know how to treat or prevent razor bumps.

Any help would be greatly welcomed!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-06-2015, 08:47 AM
RE: How to treat and prevent razor bumps?
Razor bumps can go by many other names: shaving bumps, razor pimples and shaving pimples among them. In worst cases, these razor bumps can get infected and cluster together to look like a very bad case of acne. People with curly and thicker hair seem to be more prone to these bumps than others. Razor bumps can be especially common with black men and African American men.

What causes razor bumps?