Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
High Life pomade
10-22-2015, 05:54 AM
High Life pomade
I'm new in the pomade game so I'm looking around for what's good and what's best. I hear good things about Suavecito. How does High Life compare? I wear a business style cut parted on the side. My hair is short on the sides and 2" or so on top. I don't want a lot of shine just a lot of hold. How do these 2 compare? Or should I be looking for something else?
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
10-22-2015, 07:12 AM (This post was last modified: 10-22-2015 07:18 AM by Thomas Martin.)
RE: High Life pomade
They're completely different products. Suavecito is a gel even if it says pomade on the tin. A good one but a gel all the same. HL is a pomade. It's a petrolatum based grease that won't wash out easily. There are several versions but I hear that the Heavy hold version is one of the hardest pomades in the market. It's not for the beginner. I would advice to get the medium first to see if this kind of product is something for you or not. I own the medium. It's a pretty greasy product that smells heavily of coconut and vanilla. It's not strong enough for my thick hair that leaves a too greasy feeling for me. HL is produced by DAX. I'd advice you'll try the red DAX. I like it better and it's much cheaper.
10-22-2015, 08:17 AM
Thanks for the info, Thomas. My wife bought me some Suavecito so I look forward to checking it out. I also have some Murray's coming to try. I think I'd like something that isn't a pain to wash out so water base is what I'm looking for at this point.

Any other advice or tips are welcome!
10-22-2015, 11:53 AM