Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Excited for the Journey!
07-05-2015, 09:41 AM
Excited for the Journey!
Hey Guys!

Just want to introduce myself real quick. I'm a student at a school in the Midwest spending my summer in Manhattan. It's pretty sweet!

I began my hair journey a few months ago when I lurked on this forum for a bit and read Rogelio's Curly Hair Book. I figured out I have type 1 wavy curls (rad!) and tried growing my hair out. I didn't strategize super well and I think that experiment was a failure so I ended up cutting it ha! I want to try again and figure my odds of success are better if I actively participate in the community rather than just lurk. Plus, it makes the whole process more fun. Look forward to getting to know all of you better.

Ben
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-05-2015, 10:02 AM
We're happy to see another curly member joining the forum and growing his mane!
Welcome, Ben!

Great to see your enthusiasm in growing your hair longer. It is a journey indeed but you just have to ensure that you know the basics well. You've already got two sources of great knowledge for hair care and for growing your curls longer: The Curly Hair Book (which we see as one of the must-have hair products for curly men) and this forum where you will find sections dedicated exclusively to curly hair (Curly Hair section) and long hair (Long Hair section).

As you will know since you've read The Curly Hair Book, you have wavy hair which falls under curly hair too. Your Type I curly hair is a form of very loose curls but the basics are the same as for men with tighter curls like Type V curls. You then modify several parts of your hair care and grooming routines and you're golden!