Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Does smoking cause male hair loss or balding? Is it direct or indirect?
02-27-2015, 08:17 AM
Exclamation Does smoking cause male hair loss or balding? Is it direct or indirect?
After reading two recent threads on smoking and hair health, does smoking cause hair loss? As in, is hair loss caused directly by smoking? Or is the hairloss or baldness indirect?

I ask because it was said in the threads that smoking impacts hair aesthetics. This makes sense because of the lack of nutrients to the follicles. But will you go bald from only smoking tobacco?
Thanks for the help Smile
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
02-27-2015, 12:34 PM
RE: Does smoking cause male hair loss or balding? Is it direct or indirect?
I'm no expert and I don't know if it is a direct consequence but it sure as hell won't do you any good. Then again, my grandpa (who died of lung cancer) smoked 2 to 3 packs a day and was as bald as cue ball. Curiously, he did not lose what little hair he had left during quimo.

My advice: quit smoking. Stoping hair loss is as good a reason as any.
02-27-2015, 05:22 PM
hey Vlad it's good to see you in the forum again, i just read your update with minoxidil, good to hear its work in you.
I am no expert with this stuff but doesn't smoking create all kind of chits that screw up everything in the body from skin to blood circulation? most chronic smokers i know have wrinkled loose skin and especially in the face. Most people forget that the scalp is part of your skin and the smoke gets all around the head and hair. You end up screwing up your scalp and follicles from the inside and outside.