Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Dandruff/seborrheic dermatitis
07-21-2014, 04:45 PM
Dandruff/seborrheic dermatitis
Hey everyone! This is my first thread here and I'm very new to the world of proper hair care. I wasn't sure where to post this topic, but I have an irritating case of dandruff/seborrheic dermatitis which limits me to certain shampoos and products. I am just now realizing us guys don't have to wash our hair everyday and my first question is has anyone with dandruff have success with this? Or does it just make the problem worse. Second, are there any tips or tricks with this condition? Thanks!
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
07-22-2014, 09:48 AM
RE: Dandruff/seborrheic dermatitis
Careful, dandruff is one thing and seborrhoeic dermatitis is another thing.

Dandruff is a benign condition where your skin cells are reproducing and dying too fast, so they shed and hence the dandruff flakes. There is also a fungus that inhabits the scalp and which is supposed to contribute to dandruff.

This is dandruff:

[Image: 640px-Excessive_dandruff.jpg]

On the other hand, seborrhoeic dermatitis is a "serious" condition where there is a visible irritation of the scalp and surrounding areas of the head.

This is seborrhoeic dermatitis:

[Image: Seborrhoeic_dermatitis_head.jpg]

Can you see the massive difference between dandruff and seborrhoeic dermatitis?

Here in the forum always recommend everyone to see a doctor and, even, better a dermatologist (a doctor of the skin). Dandruff is benign and it is absolutely common, so don't worry about it.

About 50% of men have dandruff, it is pretty common and easy to fix. However, and please remember this, there is NO cure for dandruff. Do not believe anyone selling you snake oil to cure your dandruff.